# UNION HIGH SCHOOL 2021 SENIOR PRIZEGIVING

# **ACADEMIC PRIZES**

## **GRADE 8**

6 <sup>th</sup>	Aaminah Steele
5 <sup>th</sup>	Kenza Neill
4 <sup>th</sup>	Sarah Jacobs
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Megan Nortjé
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Tara Ferreira
1 <sup>st</sup> UHS Prize	Erin Gedult
Vrede Award for Bilingualism	Erin Gedult
St. James' School prize for English	Erin Gedult

# **GRADE 9**

6 <sup>th</sup>	Johannes du Plessis
5 <sup>th</sup>	Sadé May
4 <sup>th</sup>	<b>Charlize Vorster</b>
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Joy Merifield
St James' School Prize for English	Joy Merifield
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Caytah-Leigh Koeberg
Vrede Award for Bilingualism	Caytah-Leigh Koeberg
1 <sup>st</sup> GSC Rubidge Memorial Prize	Na'eem Mahomed

# **GRADE 10**

6 <sup>th</sup>	Trinity West
5 <sup>th</sup>	Gemma Naude
4 <sup>th</sup>	Brigette Oelofsen
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Cadee Arends
Sue Wynford Trofee vir die beste leerder in	Cadee Arends
Afrikaans	
Vrede Award for Bilingualism	Cadee Arends
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Siphosethu Malotana
Joan Thornton / Bobs Bremner Memorial Prize for	Siphosethu Malotana
the student obtaining the highest marks in	
Mathematics, Life Sciences and Physical Sciences	
1st Luckhoff Memorial Prize	Caitrin Spence
St. James' School prize for English	Caitrin Spence

# **GRADE 11**

Vrede Award for Bilingualism	Jamie Jaftha
UHS Prize for English	Daniel Nell
6 <sup>th</sup>	Marli Brummer
5 <sup>th</sup>	Kathryn Odendaal
4 <sup>th</sup>	Amber Binney
Fergusson Family Prize for the Best Geography pupil	Amber Binney
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Grace Merifield
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Kendall Krige
W.A.A. Shield for the most promising Life Sciences pupil	Kendall Krige
Lauren Weyer Prize for Mathematics	Kendall Krige
Kroon Family Prize for Physical Sciences	Kendall Krige
1st Luckhoff Memorial Prize	Matthew Basson
ACVV Prize for Afrikaans 1st Additional Language	<b>Matthew Basson</b>

# **GRADE 12**

FNB Cup for Computers Applications Technology	Max Wright
UHS Prize for History	James Pringle
UHS Prize for Business Studies	Litha Mngoma
6 <sup>th</sup>	Catelyn Anthony
5 <sup>th</sup>	Melissa Swart
Zoetvlei Prize for Geography	Melissa Swart
4 <sup>th</sup>	Amzolele Relu
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Hannah Watermeyer
GB&G R.C. Prinsloo Prize for Accounting	Hannah Watermeyer
Bloemhof Prize for Life Sciences	Hannah Watermeyer
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Kyle-Luke du Preez
McGaffin Prize for Afrikaans First Additional Language	Kyle-Luke du Preez
UHS Prize for Mathematical Literacy	Kyle-Luke du Preez
1st Luckhoff Memorial Prize	James Rose-Innes
Old Unionite Prize for Physical Sciences	James Rose-Innes
UHS Prize for Life Orientation	James Rose-Innes
UHS Prize for Tourism	James Rose-Innes
UHS Prize for English	James Rose-Innes
Vrede Award for Bilingualism	James Rose-Innes
Max Kroon Prize for Mathematics	James Rose-Innes
James Loock Cup – Academic Interhouse	
	Awarded to Arnott House

## **CULTURAL AWARDS**

#### **MUSIC PRIZES**

Merit Certificate for Excellence in Music	Erin Gedult
Leon Fouche Floating Trophy for progress in Music	Joy Merifield
Pierre van der Merwe Floating Trophy for the most	Jamie Jaftha
outstanding Music pupil	

## **SERVICE PRIZES**

FPJ van Rensburg School Service Prize	Petra Japhta
Elizabeth Knott-Craig Service Prize	Melissa Swart
Karoo Development Foundation Prize for	Tracy Pettit
Unselfish Service	

# SPECIAL AWARDS

**The Principal's Medal** awarded to a learner of one year's standing (not in Gr.8) who has made the most significant contribution to the life of the school.

#### **Sarah Wilmot**

**The Serman Family Prize** for Matrics, excluding prefects, who through example, made a particularly valuable contribution to the school by maintaining the qualities of truth, loyalty and justice as enshrined in the school motto.

## **Tracy Pettit**

**Warmenhoven – Goodwill Shield** awarded to a Grade 11 or 12 pupil living out his/her Christian faith and by showing goodwill and tolerance to all.

#### **Matthew Basson**

**The Melda and Gordon Wright Award** is awarded to the pupil whose personal development and attitude has developed most positively.

#### **Kuhle Mence**

**The Denise Pierce Bursary** for the pupil in Grade 11 who through a cheerful, positive personality and participation in many aspects of school life has contributed most greatly to the life and spirit of the school.

#### **Asa Matross**

**Gieter Muller Trophy** presented to the pupil who best exemplifies moral courage, consideration for and helpfulness to others.

# **James Potgieter**

**The Puttick Prize** awarded to the Prefect(s) (not heads or deputies) who through force of character and devotion to duty has contributed most to the smooth running of the school.

# Mihlali Tyanase

## **BURSARIES**

Old Unionite Bursary for further study	Melissa Swart
Old Unionite Bursary for further study	Hannah Watermeyer
Rayfield Bursary for further study	Amzolele Relu
Laing Bursary for further study	Kyle-Luke du Preez
William Lawrie Bursary	James Rose-Innes

Fred Rubidge Memorial Scholarship – AKH Head Girl

**Primrose Mutapati** 

John Brodie Prize for the runners-up in the Helen Watermeyer/Joy Arnott and Way Memorial Bursaries – AKH Head Boy

# Martin van der Berg

Joy Arnott / Helen Watermeyer Trust Bursary to the head girl of the school, as a present pure and simple, for her to do with as she liked as a memory of Helen Watermeyer, from whose little school in 1896, this big school had grown.

### **Hannah Watermeyer**

Way Memorial Bursary to the boy in Matric, who, by his character, conduct spiritedness and qualities of leadership, has contributed most to the life of the school – Head Boy

Kyle-Luke du Preez