New Grass for Pitches

Mr Kingwill supervising the groundstaff who are planting one hundred pallets of grass on the Puttick and Murray Field cricket pitches. We are grateful to the Old Unionite Association for financing this project and to Montego Pet Nutrition who transported the grass to Graaff-Reinet from the South-Western Cape. The persistent drought and the quality of available water has had a devastating effect on our cricket pitches.

Swimming Pool Renovations

The school swimming pool is currently undergoing extensive repair and renovation. One might wonder why the school has chosen to embark on this project at this time of year, while swimming is underway, and have not waited for the winter. The answer to this is that the repairs were necessitated by an alarming leak and consequent drop in water level which simply could not be ignored.

The constant fluctuation of the water level and the weekly re-filling of the pool with water from the school’s furrows via Mackie’s Pit was causing havoc with PH levels and costing a fortune in chlorine and acid. Further, it was simply impossible to ensure the clarity of the pool for our swimmers.
The school’s maintenance crew has been feverishly digging trenches to expose the pool’s extensive plumbing network and searching for leaks and will take the opportunity to carry out extensive maintenance, including replacing all the sub-terranean plumbing. Further work will also be carried out to replace tiles, expansion gap sealant and the moulded tile around the perimeter.

Mr Colin Warner of Colin Warner Plumbing will supervise this work and will ensure that several improvements are made to the existing system which will provide a safe, appropriate swimming facility for our children.

We thank the Union community for its understanding and patience during this time.


UHS Vacancy

Union Schools, Graaff-Reinet,

Is seeking to appoint a motivated, dedicated and dynamic 



The successful applicant will be required to start 1 April 2019.

Complete command of English
Management, strategic planning and execution.
Public Relations, Marketing and Fundraising experience will be an advantage.

 Valid driver’s licence required.

 CLOSING DATE: 1 March 2019

Only short-listed candidates will be contacted.

Please send a comprehensive CV to:

The Headmaster

Union High School

P.O. Box 190



Tel.: 049-8910262
Fax: 049-8910261 / 086 508 2910

Rain in the Karoo is Such a Blessing

Rainfall and all that goes with it, is of extreme importance in the semi-arid Karoo. With Nqweba dam’s levels having dropped to 1% of capacity, the veld dry and Graaff-Reinet’s water a real issue – water talk is common at Union. Then last week it started to rain! While the town itself has not received substantial rainfall at this stage, it fell heavily in the catchment areas on farms where some of our boarders live. On Monday morning some of this water reached the rivers that flow into the dam. With much jubilation, the Arthur Kingwill House matrics went to witness this wonderful event and saw the Sunday’s river in full spate after many, many months.