Academic Awards

The annual assembly to acknowledge the learners who had attained ๐—›๐—œ๐—š๐—› ๐—”๐—–๐—”๐——๐—˜๐— ๐—œ๐—– ๐—ฆ๐—จ๐—–๐—–๐—˜๐—ฆ๐—ฆ๐—˜๐—ฆ during the course of last year was held today, Friday, 20 January.


Visit our Facebook page to view photographs of this event.

Academic Honours

At Union High School, Graaff-Reinetโ€™s Academic Awards Assembly on Friday morning, 20 January, the sought-after ๐—ช๐—›๐—œ๐—ง๐—˜ ๐—•๐—Ÿ๐—”๐—ญ๐—˜๐—ฅ was presented to Unionโ€™s 2023 Head Girl, Caitrin Spence.

The blazer was presented to her in recognition of her well-deserved Honours Award. (๐˜ˆ๐˜ฏ ๐˜๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ๐˜ฐ๐˜ถ๐˜ณ๐˜ด ๐˜ˆ๐˜ธ๐˜ข๐˜ณ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ช๐˜ด ๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ง ๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ฉ๐˜ช๐˜จ๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ๐˜ด๐˜ต ๐˜ข๐˜ค๐˜ค๐˜ฐ๐˜ญ๐˜ข๐˜ฅ๐˜ฆ๐˜ด ๐˜ฑ๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ๐˜ด๐˜ฆ๐˜ฏ๐˜ต๐˜ฆ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ข๐˜ต ๐˜œ๐˜ฏ๐˜ช๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ ๐˜ข๐˜ฏ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ช๐˜ด ๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ๐˜ญ๐˜บ ๐˜ข๐˜ธ๐˜ข๐˜ณ๐˜ฅ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ ๐˜ท๐˜ฆ๐˜ณ๐˜บ ๐˜ณ๐˜ข๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ค๐˜ค๐˜ข๐˜ด๐˜ช๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ๐˜ด.)

๐˜พ๐™–๐™ž๐™ฉ๐™ง๐™ž๐™ฃ ๐™ฌ๐™–๐™จ ๐™ฅ๐™ง๐™š๐™จ๐™š๐™ฃ๐™ฉ๐™š๐™™ ๐™ฌ๐™ž๐™ฉ๐™ ๐™ฉ๐™๐™š ๐™ƒ๐™ค๐™ฃ๐™ค๐™ช๐™ง๐™จ ๐˜ผ๐™ฌ๐™–๐™ง๐™™ ๐™›๐™ค๐™ง ๐™š๐™ญ๐™˜๐™š๐™ฅ๐™ฉ๐™ž๐™ค๐™ฃ๐™–๐™ก ๐™–๐™˜๐™–๐™™๐™š๐™ข๐™ž๐™˜ ๐™–๐™˜๐™๐™ž๐™š๐™ซ๐™š๐™ข๐™š๐™ฃ๐™ฉ having maintained an academic average of 95% throughout her Grade 10 and 11 years. It is no small feat to reach this level of academic achievement. Caitrin, however, brings the goal of excellence to all her endeavours, and while sheโ€™s involved in all aspects of life at Union, she demonstrates an unwavering focus on her studies in particular, which has allowed her to reach this level of success.

Caitrin becomes the 5th Unionite to receive this award since its inception in 2004 when it was awarded for the very first time to Carl Bezuidenhout. Since then, the three other Unionites who have enjoyed the privilege of donning the white blazer, consists of Sulette Damons (Class of 2007), Kelsey Minnaar (Class of 2016) and Lynne Mugglestone (Class of 2007).

๐˜ž๐˜ฆ๐˜ญ๐˜ญ ๐˜ฅ๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ๐˜ฆ ๐˜Š๐˜ข๐˜ช๐˜ต๐˜ณ๐˜ช๐˜ฏ ๐˜ข๐˜ฏ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ธ๐˜ฆ๐˜ญ๐˜ญ ๐˜ฅ๐˜ฆ๐˜ด๐˜ฆ๐˜ณ๐˜ท๐˜ฆ๐˜ฅ!

Top 10 Academic Achievers Term 2 2022

On behalf of all the educators and staff at Union High School, Graaff-Reinet, we would like to congratulate the ๐—ง๐—ข๐—ฃ ๐Ÿญ๐Ÿฌ ๐—”๐—–๐—”๐——๐—˜๐— ๐—œ๐—– ๐—”๐—–๐—›๐—œ๐—˜๐—ฉ๐—˜๐—ฅ๐—ฆ ๐—ข๐—™ ๐—ง๐—˜๐—ฅ๐—  ๐Ÿฎ, 2022.
๐˜’๐˜ฆ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฑ ๐˜ถ๐˜ฑ ๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ ๐˜จ๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ๐˜ข๐˜ต ๐˜ธ๐˜ฐ๐˜ณ๐˜ฌ!
๐—š๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ ๐Ÿญ๐Ÿฎ:
1. Grace Merifield
2. Matthew Basson
3. Kendall Krige
4. Marli Brummer and Amber Binney
6. Michelle Doyle
7. Alexandra Imrie, Kathryn Odendaal, Tamsin James and Matthew McNaughton.
๐—š๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ ๐Ÿญ๐Ÿญ:
1. Caitrin Spence
2. Siphosethu Malotana
3. Cadee Arends
4. Brigette Oelofsen
5. Tayla Kingwill
6. Trinity West and Gemma Naudรฉ
8. Lwanda Ntlonti
9. Jenna-Lee Jansen, Anna Pringle and Andrue Victor
๐—š๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ ๐Ÿญ๐Ÿฌ:
1. Joy Merifield and Naโ€™eem Mahomed
3. Sarah Wilmot
4. Caytah-Leigh Koeberg
5. Jayden Swart
6. Joshua Basson
7. Max Price and Charlize Vorster
9. Joshua Neill
10. Johannes du Plessis
๐—š๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ ๐Ÿต:
1. Erin Gedult
2. Megan Nortjรฉ
3. Tara Ferreira
4. Kenza Neill
5. Sarah Jacobs
6. Aaminah Steele and Pieter-Trystan Hulleman
8. Muhammad Ahmed
9. Sasha Cochrane
10. Mihle Thibini
๐—š๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ ๐Ÿด:
1. Katelyn Trollip
2. Samantha Charles
3. Amber Bezuidenhout and Ciara Kivedo
5. Taegan Hamid and Jade Palmer
7. Melissa Naudรฉ
8. Anebel Norval
9. Endinako Jadezweni and Misha Newton
๐—š๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ ๐Ÿณ:
1. Aimee Short
2. Amber Slater
3. Tara Piercey
4. Kirsten Collett
5. Elizabeth Houseman
6. Sixolile Singeni
7. Jade Slater
8. Zach Verwey
9. Richard Murray
10. Benji Loots
๐—š๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ ๐Ÿฒ:
1. Antonia Adams
2. Isabella Hulleman
3. Zunaida Deysel
4. Cate Cochrane and Owen Paxton
6. Philip Kayster
7. John-Henry King
8. Gerda Clarke, Carlen Prinsloo and Thomas Taylor
๐—š๐—ฟ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ ๐Ÿฑ:
1. Clea Clarke
2. Helen van den Heever
3. Adriaan van Jaarsveld
4. Chantรฉ Bezuidenhout
5. Aidan Ferreira
6. Rachel Wenham
7. Kira Hector and Kate Charles
8. Miley Burger, Jae Fillis and Logan Marais

Top Academic Achievers

At Union High Schoolโ€™s recent prizegiving ceremony, the ๐—ง๐—ข๐—ฃ ๐—”๐—–๐—”๐——๐—˜๐— ๐—œ๐—– ๐—”๐—–๐—›๐—œ๐—˜๐—ฉ๐—˜๐—ฅ๐—ฆ in each grade were acknowledged for excellence during the academic school year.
The learners who claimed the top spot in each respective grade, are as follows: (left to right) Erin Gedult (1st on Year Grade 8 ), Katelyn Trollip (1st On Year Grade 7), Caitrin Spence (1st on Year Grade 10), James Rose-Innes (1st on Year Grade 12), Matthew Basson (1st on Year Grade 11), Naโ€™eem Mohammad (1st on Year Grade 9), Anna Stocks (1st On Year Grade 6) and Antonia Adams (1st on year Grade 5).

A Fresh Look At Studying

On Friday morning, 16 April, Union High School’s Grade 9, 10, 11 and 12 learners attended an Elevate Education study skills coaching session.
These sessions, presented by energetic study skills facilitators, are aimed at developing a child’s study techniques in Time Management, Motivation, Growth Mindset, Stress Management and Exams and endeavours to reshape a child’s attitude towards studying and forge new habits that are modelled on the very habits used by past top students.

Academic Awards


(Based on the results of 2019)


GRADE 6 (Based on Grade 5 results of 2019)

Amber Bezuidenhout

Ciara Kivedo

Anebel Norval

Josh Arends

Samantha Charles

Bradley Davenport

Jade Palmer

Katelyn Trollip


GRADE 7 (Based on Grade 6 results of 2019)

Sasha Cochrane

Tara Ferreira

Zara Douman-Deysel

Erin Gedult (Re-award)

Megan Nortjรฉ (Re-award)

Matthew Paxton

Emma Short (Re-award)


GRADE 8 (Based on Grade 7 results of 2019)

Terry Mabuni

Jayden Swart

Charlize Vorster

Naโ€™eem Mahomed

Caytah-Leigh Koeberg

Sadรฉ May (Re-award)



GRADE 9 (Based on Grade 8 results of 2019)

Cadee Arends

Lana Bouwer

Siyamthanda Desha

Tayla Kingwill

Siphosethu Malotana

Gemma Naude

Brigette Oelofsen

Anna Pringle

Soyana Sinazo

Caitrin Spence

Trinity West


GRADE 10 (Based on Grade 9 results of 2019)

Kathryn Odendaal

Matthew Basson

Amber Binney

Hannah Bodenstein

Kendall Krige

Matthew McNaughton

Chloe Shires



GRADE 11 (Based on Grade 10 results of 2019)

GRADE 12 (Based on Grade 11 results of 2019)

Half colours

Meghan Basson

Sakhe Booi

Erin Mitchell

Micaela te water Naude



Full colours

Matthew Hesselink

Katherine Imrie

Sara Kingwill

Bowen Langmead

Laetitia Theron

Deger Williams


Click here to view our Academic Awards Policy