Prefects 2019

Back (left to right): Ebben Johnston, Peter Watermeyer, Yu-Pei Rong, Iviwe Ndamane,
Bonginkosi Johnson, Khanya Butshingi and Gregon Jenneke
Middle (left to right): Taylin Miller, Sanja du Plessis, Megan Doyle, Gary Shell and
Jenna McNaughton
Front (left to right): Kay Koeberg, Sasha Bosch, Ethan Gedult, Zintle Maki and Micela Loock

AK House Dinner & Hostels Prefects 2019

The gentlemen of Arthur Kingwill House held their annual dinner in the Tony Burrell Union on Thursday evening, 30 August. The Union was beautifully decorated by Mrs Kingwill and the hostel matrons.

Mr Kingwill, Boarding Superintendent, welcomed the guests and thanked all those who had contributed to the success and happiness of the past year, particularly the 2018 Grade 12 class and prefect body under the leadership of Michael Krige. They have led the boarding house with quiet dignity and a passion for the school which is unrivalled in recent years.

One of the Grade 12 boys was recently heard to say: When I arrived at AKH in Grade 5, a Grade 12 boy helped me carry my luggage up to my room. At the time, this was unheard of. Now, it is unheard of that a Grade 12 boy will not help a junior boy in this way. What a wonderful testimony to the healthy culture that exists in our home-away-from-home for our children!

Mr Kingwill always has a message for the boys, and this year, a moving and inspirational video entitled “Leaders Eat Last” provided those present with much food for thought about what true leadership entails, and why some teams pull together and others don’t.

The boys, led by Konke Koyingana, entertained the guests with their beautiful singing, a part of the evening which always highlights the spirit of the boarding house, and provides outsiders with a small glimpse of behind-the-scenes hostel life.

Congratulations to the following boarders who were elected as the 2019 Arthur Kingwill House prefects:
Khanya Butshingi (Head Boy), Luke McNaughton, Peter Watermeyer, Iviwe Ndamane (Deputy Head), Lihlombe Qambata and Zusakhe Ngwane


Biathlon – Event #1 for the new season

Only two Union biathletes made the journey to Port Elizabeth to compete in the 1st event of the 2018 / 2019 season. Hannah Bodenstein participated in her first biathlon, and did well to place 7th in her age group with 1799 points, while Drew Dobinson placed 6th in the same age group, with 1885 points. Both girls did surprisingly well in the swim portion of the event, despite the long layoff over the winter season, but will be looking to improve substantially on their run times for the next meeting in two weeks’ time.
The Annual EP Biathlon prize giving was held earlier in the year, and Cameron Muir received the following awards in his absence:
• His EP badge – which is awarded to athletes who are selected for the EP “A” team for 5 consecutive years
• And the trophy for dedication and performance in the u/19 category.
Congratulations to Cameron on his selection for these awards.