An Evening of One Acts

On Thursday evening, 9 May, a unique theatrical evening was held in the Union High School hall.

The biennial inter-house One Act Plays, hosted by the school’s Performing Arts Club, as usual, saw the school’s two houses – Arnott and Daly – pitted against one another.

The performances of the houses, however, weren’t judged as a whole this year, but instead by the individual performances of the actors, who scored points for their respective houses based on how well they played their part.

The themes of this year’s featured plays hit very close to home, with many of the learners and audience members commenting on how relatable they were in this day and age.

‘Bill, please’ – with lead actors James Rose-Innes and Asa Matross – followed a series of blind dinner dates that just couldn’t seem to get any worse. Despite the fact that they did, in fact, get worse, happiness still awaited the characters at the end of the long, dark tunnel.

The humour incorporated in this play produced a lot of belly laughs with the actors delivering an amazing performance.

The second play, ‘The Internet/Sidetracked’, demonstrated what a big a distraction the Internet can be when checking a few facts for a school project gets sidetracked by boxing cats, Facebook lurkers and pig-throwing games that, in the end, put schoolwork on the back burner.

Though the evening was full of laughs, in the end, a winning house and the best performances had to be decided upon.

James Rose-Innes, Tumi Teys, Buchule Siloti, Petra Jaftha and Melissa Swart

Buchule Siloti was recognised as the evening’s Best Supporting Actor with Petra Jaftha and Tumi Teys sharing the award for Best Supporting Actress.  James Rose-Innes and Melissa Swart were, respectively, awarded the Best Actor and Best Actress award.

The winning play was ‘The Internet/Sidetracked’ and the winning house this year, was Daly.

Thanks are extended to the judges, without whom this evening would not have been the success it turned out to be, Mrs. Paula Kingwill, Ms. Sherilee du Plessis, Ms. Vona van Rensburg and Mr. Erwin Itterhagen-Straus.

Thanks are also extended to the school’s senior choir who, accompanied by various individual performances, delighted the audience.

Lastly, a special word of thanks must be extended to Mrs. Sanette Brink for her constant support with the arrangements as well as to Mrs. Avrille Putter who offered to direct one of the houses, supported the process throughout and put in a lot of hard work to help the Performing Arts Club pull everything together.