SGB Induction

On Thursday evening, 19 August, all newly elected School Governing Body (SGB) members of the Union High School and Union Preparatory School, attended an induction programme at the Tony Burrell Union.
The event was hosted by the Eastern Cape Department of Education (EDoE) and facilitated by Mrs Nomandla Singeni, the Circuit Management Centre (CMC) Head for Graaff-Reinet.
The meeting served to prepare the newly elected members of the two SGBs for the mandate lying ahead and to inform them about their roles and responsibilities in their 3-year term of office.
“SGB members are expected to ensure that their schools are governed in the best interest of all stakeholders, especially learners, and to always put the best interest of the school before any personal interests,” said Mrs Singeni.
She continued, “As per the South African Schools Act no 84 of 1996, they must promote the best interest of the school and ensure its development. They have to help the headmaster, educators and other staff members to perform their professional functions, decide on school policy, including admissions, language and finance, and administer and control the property of the school, buildings and grounds. They have to encourage parents, learners, educators and other staff members at the school and offer voluntary services.”
The new SGB members who were elected earlier this year have already assumed their responsibilities. Ahead of them lies an immense task of effecting school functionality to ensure that the Union Schools continues to provide the very best in all-round education.
Seen here is Union High School’s SGB chairman, Mr Kelvin Kayster, with Mr William Pringle (Union High School’s Headmaster), Mrs Nomandla Singeni (ECDoE’s Graaff-Reinet CMC Head), Mrs Belinda Botha (Union Preparatory School’s Principal) and Mr Dave Stern (Union Preparatory School’s SGB chairman).